Short Stories

The collection of short stories based in the Ancient Vestiges fictional universe and planned releases of future installments. The stories are offered in PDF format (readable and printable on your computer, tablet, or smartphone). The stories are listed in chronological order, and the author suggests that you read them in the order listed (subject to availability).

The Dark God: (Releases August 2017)

The Paragon (Releases September 2017)

  • Part I: Exodus
  • Part II: The Holy Sepulcher
  • Part III: The Prophet
  • Part IV: The Indomitable

Sworn to the Cloth

Rachel Du’vron has been accepted into the clergy, but she is concerned the Voice—Dalia’s divine ruler— has harboured secrets from the faithful. The eve before her ascension ceremony, she follows a suspicious figure within the Cathedral of Light, but what she uncovers is beyond imagining.

The Rise of the Corsair

Daniel Baccan has been summoned to the Lion Throne by King Marcus Marcanas. The young lad does not know what the king could possibly want with him, but he attends dutifully. The audience, however, is not what he expects—but the Great Fate is not without humour: for the very tides begin to churn, sending out ripples that will affect the realm for years to come.

Daniel Baccan has arrived in the port-town of Lalton with fire and fury. Damian promised that the secrets and trysts of the old kingdom are hidden near the town, and it falls to Daniel to discover where they have lain hidden for three hundred years.

Daniel Baccan is with the only person who ever mattered: Emily.  It is so peaceful, so perfect, so wonderful. Yet not all things are meant to last, and when the choice stands before him, he must chose who and what he wants to be.

Aerona Harkan stands at her father’s side as they possess the cargo of a Trechtian trading cog. When they return to the islands to sell the goods to the Appraiser—an old man who seems to have endless wealth—they realize that their lives of piracy must end, ere the tides of fate drowns them.

Daniel Baccan is the Corsair. Embracing the moniker, he loyally serves Overlord Damian Dannars and his reckless pursuit of power. To that end, the last of the great captains has been recruited to the service of the soon-to-be Southern Nations. Despite all the secrecy, however, the great kingdoms of the realm are not entirely ignorant. As the realm quakes, the Corsair must rise, enforcing the will of the overlord.

The Terror of the Black Storm (Releases October 2017)

  • Part I
  • Part II
  • Part III
  • Part IV

The Birth of Madness (Releases November 2017)

Prince Tristifer Marcanas–eldest of the three children of the king–stands beside the Lion Throne as King Marcus Marcanas stands in judgment of Prince Adreyu Marcanas–the Cleaver Prince–who has returned to the kingdom defeated and ashamed. The king is cold and hard, continuing down a path that divides the nobility and knights. Tristifer soon discovers that he must make a choice: loyalty to his brother or his king.


%d bloggers like this: