A Single Volume

Hello all!

I would like to start off with mentioning another work that means a lot to me: the Lord of the Rings.

Despite often being called a trilogy, the culmination of Professor J.R.R. Tolkien’s literary work is a novel split into six books (often times published in either a single hardcover volume or three paperback books). It makes sense when you think about the tale the professor told, how sequential it is, and the common thread woven through the entire narrative.

I see a similar thread woven through my own work.

There are so many characters in Ancient Vestiges — some are emphasized and de-emphasized in particular books — but it really is a collective whole. The plot, themes, and message from start to finish is also cohesive. In essence, I do not believe my debut work is much a trilogy as it is one long novel.

So it shall be.

When I publish this November, I will be offering all three novellas in a single volume, and it will be listed as a novel. It will publish under the title Ancient Vestiges: Darkness Rising. When you pick up your copy for the first time, you will see the novel split into three parts (or books): Awakening, Sea of Storms, and Heart of the Sand. Readers who have been following my work since the beginning will notice two of the three as existing novella titles. That is on purpose. They serve really well as guiding points or spring boards.

This will also be the last time I will use the word ‘novella’ to describe my work. It is a novel.

That is all I have for today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s